The Little Bear-Blanca Traverse

I have gazed at the mile of skyline connecting Little Bear and Blanca from many different places.  My favorite is from the merry-go round in the playground behind my school.  I’ll spin nearly a literal ton of giggling children around on the thing, and when I step back as they swirl in front of me and turn my gaze upwards, this skyline meets my eyes in the gap between the greenhouse and the football scoreboard on the horizon.  The most dramatic view, though, is from the summits that mark its endpoints.  Three times I had stood on one of these, always with a reason not to proceed, and always wanting to come back.  This weekend I finally did, and enjoyed this walk across the sky.

Leave a Reply

